pub-769827371306972 pub-769827371306972
top of page

65 seasons ago these Pirates shared the NWC crown

8-2 squad was coached by Frank Osborne

Bluffton High School 1958 football team - Northwest Conference co-champions

Front from left, Larry Smucker, Ron Habegger, Owen Ziessler, Ramon Lewis, Gordon Mathewson, Dennis Smith, Norman Hochstettler and Brian Badertscher, manager.

Second row from left, Douglas Reichenbach, Terry Marshall, James Jordan, Chuck Baber, Rudi Steiner, Michael Diller, Dale Schiffke, Don Zimmerman, Robert Kimmet.

Third row from left, Robbie Miller, Ken Logan, James Luginbuhl, Larry Marshall, Morgan Davies, David Benroth, Gene Mathewson and don Deerhake.

Bluffton and Elida were the Northwest Conference football powerhouses in the mid to late 1950s. Here’s the proof, listing NWC winner from 1955 to 1960.

The 1958 Pirates shared the conference crown with the Bulldogs. Bluffton managed an 8-2 overall record, losing only to Elida and non-conference Ada. Elida, however, lost to Columbus Grove, and as Bluffton’s season came to an end a conference title tie was possible if the Pirate could stop Grove, which they did.

Northwest Conference champs 1955-1960

1955 – Elida

1956 – Bluffton

1957 – Elida

1958 – Bluffton, Elida

1959 – Columbus Grove

1960 - Elida

1958 Bluffton HS scores

North Baltimore 22-6

LaFayette 42-7

Ada 22-24

Elida 12-46

Pandora-Gilboa 76-0

Delphos Jefferson 12-0

Spencerville 38-14

Columbus Grove 14-6

Leipsic 46-6

Forest 54-0


bottom of page