pub-769827371306972 pub-769827371306972
top of page

In 1914 it was the showcase building of Bluffton College

Today it is tucked away behind Centennial Hall

Today it is tucked away behind Centennial Hall. But when it was constructed in 1914 it was the showcase of the Bluffton College campus.

Originally called Science Hall, today it’s Berky Hall, in recognition of H.W. Berky, long-time science faculty member.

Some college expansion has removed most of the steps and closed the three front doors.

The colorized post card view is from the drive way leading to College Hall. The two pillars once upon a time read “Class of 1906.” Those pillars unfortunately didn’t survive an enlargement of the street leading to College Hall in the early 2000s.

Perhaps one of the more surprising elements of the building is found on its cornerstone.One side reads: Erected by Citizens of Bluffton and Surrounding Communities. Science Hall, A.D. 1914,.

The second side is the college motto: Ye shall know the truth and the truth shall make you free, John 8: 32.


bottom of page